Caumont, a rural village, is first noted during the reign of Philippe the 1st (1060 to 1108). It was named from the latin Calvus mons, meaning « Mont dénudé » (exposed mount). This land is divided in two parts : wooded hillsides and low terraces.
The order of the Knights of Saint John of Jerusalem once owned a quarter of the parish and the church St Jean de Lalanne, long since demolished but still marked by a cross.
Experience Caumont as a family with the Randoland cards, showing interesting things to discover and puzzle to solve: Download Randoland